American Idol: If These Are the Top 12 Male Singers in the Country…

…Let’s go ahead and move to Canada, shall we?

The patented +, -, ? grading system failed me a little tonight, because I didn’t give out a single +. Meaning, I didn’t really enjoy any of the performances.

So, here are a few people I might enjoy some other week:

Tyler Grady–He has a cool style. So that’s something. But his American Woman was totally charisma-less. And I know, because I saw Lenny Kravitz in concert. And even though I’m not a devoted Lenny fan, I came away thinking, Wow, that dude, like, sweats charm! I guess it’s a rock star thing.

John Park–He’s very tall.

Todrick Hall–He ruined Kelly Clarkson’s Since You’ve Been Gone, but he ruined it with a lot of effort.

Casey James–I don’t get the uber-hot rep he’s gotten. Maybe because I’m not much for blonds or because he reminds me of that commercial where you think you’re looking at a girl’s hair but it’s really a Golden Retriever. But his voice sounds like and alto Tiny Tim. So that’s fun.

Andrew Garcia–He rocked Hollywood Week with a seriously awesome Paula Abdul cover. And he sang an Adele tune. However, he kinda sucked tonight.

Alex Lambert–His voice is seriously cool. But here’s what I wrote down when he was singing, “Nervous… :(” He looked so miserable that I had to draw a sad face to comfort myself. I almost drew a tear falling from the eye dot, but I decided it was overly dramatic for American Idol notes. Just barely.

This is what Casey James sang. But Lil’ Davie owned this one.
What with the reminiscing about his long-lost childhood at age 16.
Note the background singer crying in the background. Because of the beauty of it all.
(Go to about 0:57)

Leave a comment